Faith like child

Singing at the top of her lungs – in Spanish, of course – “I trust only in you, Jesus.  You’re my hope.  Today I rest in your faithfulness.  Nothing will separate our love.  Jesus, Jesus, name above all names…” 

She has no idea that in a few days her world might turn completely upside down – again.  She has no idea that things are going on around her that she knows nothing about!  She’s just full of happiness and JOY and trust!

As she sings, I’m holding back tears.  I’ve never seen her SO thoroughly full of joy.  She’s been going about her days happily.  She whines now and then – AS she obeys!  It’s amazing the transformation in her!  And in 3 days her mom might come to pick her up.  She tells us she is coming for a visit.  That’s what she told her pastors.  But she tells her sister that she’s not going back.  That means she is coming to take Lis away.  We knew the time would come, but we expected it to be with rejoicing because her mom was home again, not with deception.  We were ready for this a few weeks ago – until everyone agreed that she needed another 4 months in rehab.  We changed our expectations to having Lis here for at least a few more months.  And now this.

As I prayed that God would show me something, I’m not kidding, I heard in my heart – not audibly with my ears, but like a clear thought REMEMBERING someone’s voice – “A Psalm.” 

Out loud I said, “But which one?  There are so many.  I don’t want to just sit here and pretend to hear from God and read…”  “62.”  The same way.  Not out loud, but NO question.  Let me just quote the beginning.  “My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.”  David then speaks to his enemies who “…fully intend to topple him from his lofty place; they take delight in lies.  With their mouths they bless, but in their hearts they curse.”  And who is our enemy?  Is it a person?  A mom?  Who desires to topple us?  The deceiver, I’d say.

The Psalm ends, “One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that you, O God are strong, and that you, O Lord, are loving…”  We don’t need to worry.  We can throw our heads back and SING!

Leave a Reply

