Acts 3

Have you ever walked past a lame man on the way to the grocery store – kinda like Peter and John on their way to the temple? Some of us do that on a regular basis. I have certain people I chat with and give to, but today it struck me differently. We were at a different grocery store, and the man was curled up on the floor on a mat. More reminiscent of Peter and John’s experience than the man in the wheel chair I usually see. Maybe that’s why it hit me so hard. I’m still on the verge of tears as I think of him. We were on an emergency trip to the restroom, so we didn’t stop to chat on the way by. I patted my pockets and found only grocery receipts. Nothing to share. No food, because we hadn’t shopped yet. The receipts were old.

In the bathroom, I thought, “Maybe I should just go past and greet him, tell him I don’t have any money, but…” and then the song started playing in my mind, and it hasn’t stopped. “Silver and gold have I none, but such as I have give I thee. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk! He went walking and leaping and praising God…” Hmm… So I go up to him and say … what?! “I have no money, but I’ll give you what I have…?? And what IS that? Why can’t I say “in the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk!”? I don’t know about you, but I want to see a lame man walking and leaping and praising God!!

I found Wes and got a little cash. I had decided to go back to where the man lay and ask him his name – maybe sit on the floor with him just to be on his level and not towering above. Then I would tell him I would be praying for him. It didn’t feel like enough. But when I got there, he was gone. I feel horrible. I don’t know that I will be back at that grocery store again. It’s 5 hours from our home. I can pray for him. God knows his name. But I feel this sadness every time I think of that man. I greeted him as I would anyone else I passed by, but that was IT.

Sorry there’s no happy ending. Just some deep ponderings going on that I wanted to share a bit of.

One response to this post.

  1. I have been working through the exact same thing. In your case that day it could have easily been God giving you a little test and sometime I wonder if He uses angels to do it 🙂 I have seeing these same guys sleeping out on the street as I walk to school and wow what an opportunity to show the gospel to my boys! If I brought a snack for school I will usually give it to them, even while they are asleep. I have been thinking about asking people for shoes to donate as I see that lots of these guys don’t have shoes.
    Good post Cindy, it brings awareness to the reality and challenges us to respond.

    (I too want to just have the power and faith to heal them or give them more than a piece of bread.)

Leave a Reply

