God’s cool

I didn’t intend to wait so long to post the rest of the story! Life got away from me! Let’s start with a recap: got the phone call that Tim will likely not survive the night, left home with an hour’s notice, bringing along dinner supplies, got stuck in Pinalejo tying muffler to the car, got horse poop all over Wes, and got into LONG line of traffic.

So because of all the delays, we arrived in San Pedro Sula well after dark, having prayed our way there! Tim was safe in the hospital, and we were free for the night. We’d already decided on the best fast food for Becca’s diet, but there were three possible locations. We prayed and chose one. Not sure why we felt it was so important that we prayed about it, but we did. I guess everything felt important that night! We went to the one we’d never been to before.

Since Wes was covered in horse poop, we’d decided to get our food to go. There’s a drive-through, but for some reason we decided it would be better for Joel and me to go in and get take-out. As we went in, Joel saw someone we know headed into the bathroom. I looked in the room the man had just left and saw a pastor we see at the Easter retreat every year. I didn’t remember his name, but I thought I could go say hello anyway.  Going in the door, I saw that our pastor, Daniel, was at the head of the table! As it turned out, there was a team of leaders in Honduras for a few days, spending time with our pastor and a few other leaders. The team was made up of 3 N. Americans and a Brazilian. We had a wonderful time talking with them for a few minutes, and I sent word to Wes that we’d be a while. I had to explain to the pastor what had happened to Wes, and he sent someone out to find a spare shirt! Wes changed in the men’s room and joined us. I felt our passions in ministry were right in line with the visiting leaders’! As we talked, we heard that one was from Indianapolis, so we had to mention that Ellie had been at Taylor U. this summer and is headed back in August. Another overheard our conversation and mentioned that two of his kids had gone there. I had his business card in my back pocket, so I whipped it out to see what his last name was.

Would you believe that his son was one of Wes’s friends in college?? Dave Hughey’s dad! CRAZY!  Here we are in the city on a night we should have been at home, stopping to eat out when we should have cooked what I’d brought along, eating at a restaurant we’d never been to … and we “just happen” to run into an old friend’s dad! Small world?  I don’t think so! I think it’s a BIG GOD with a plan for us to meet that night!

I’m going to post this piece now, though the story gets better… or worse! Tim decides to check out of the hospital and come stay with us. At our friends’ house. But that’s a story for another night!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Val Roth on December 10, 2012 at 4:20 am

    Wow Cindy…you sure have had some adventures! God is so awesome to set you up
    like He did. Many Blessings to you and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

